top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDoug Robertson

Press Pause for Now

Updated: Jun 11, 2023

Dear Darroch cousins and friends,

Why did John and Agnes wed on a Thursday? Was it due to their imminent departure?

This week marks the anniversary of John and Agnes’s wedding (June 7, 1849). This week also marks 174 years since they left Scotland to sail for British North America. I acknowledge these dates with this short post, for I have not had time (or, more precisely, the discipline) to research and write about their wedding and departure.


It is with some sadness I write this post, for I intend to pause writing this history while I focus on my mother’s family history. She is in her 93rd year and is very sharp. She is a talented writer, having written stories, poems, and plays. Mom's first published work was in 1938 when she won a school poetry contest. Her play, "The Pull of the Land," won accolades across the West and was the topic of a CBC documentary. Mom is now writing her autobiography. In parallel, I am researching and writing the history of her parents and grandparents and their lives in England.


Therefore, in an attempt to "focus and finish," I will postpone further writing on our Darroch history until 2024. Then we'll see John and Agnes arrive safely in British North America, raise their family, and reunite with siblings and cousins.


During this time, feel free to email me at FamilyHistorySnippets@gmail.com or reply to the email that delivered this post (it states “No Reply” but replies do arrive in my Inbox).


Until next year, all the best to each of you.


Your cousin,


Doug

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page